

Volume 21, No. 4

Editor: Bob Rupert

January, 1991.

WOMEN ARE WINNERS IN PAY EQUITY

With the New Year comes good news for 71 Carleton faculty members -- all of them women.

In a study initiated in response to Ontario Pay Equity legislation, all female salaries were reviewed by Carleton's Salary Adjustment Commission and in December adjustments totalling nearly a quarter of a million dollars were recommended.

President Farquhar will be notifying those receiving adjustments in early January. This salary review is complementary to the previous review of professional librarian salaries and demonstrates the continuing commitment of both the union and management to achieving and maintaining fair and equitable employment practices at Carleton University.

The Commission received extensive methodological and modelling support from the Director of the Office of Planning, Analysis and Statistics - Imelda Mulvihill and historical reference support on previous adjustments and the interrelationship of various provisions in past collective agreements was provided by Pat Finn.

Members of the Adjustment Commission are Bill Jones (Psychology), Geza Kardos (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Kanta Marwah (Economics), Les Copley (Dean of Science), Brian McFadyen (Personnel) and Bill Picket (Research Associate/Office of Vice-President Planning).

NEGOTIATIONS TO BEGIN SHORTLY

As the February 1 start-up date for negotiations comes closer, CUASA is putting the final touches on its proposals. Your priorities, taken from our recent questionnaire and other documents, will be in our package.

Your representatives at the bargaining table will be Bill Jones (Chief Negotiator), Pat Finn, Alison Hall, Geza Kardos, Shirley Mills and Alistair Tilson.

Back-up team members are Douglas Wurtele, Susan Jackson, Don Westwood, George Neuspiel, Bob Rupert, Edith Moore, Eugenia Zimmerman, Frances Montgomery, and Barry Rutland.

The employer has announced that "management" will be represented by Malcolm Bibby, David VanDine, Fraser Taylor and Linda Rossman.

CUASA COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

JOINT COMMITTEE TO ADMINISTER THE AGREEMENT Susan Jackson, Alister Tilson, Doug Wurtele, Don Westwood

GRIEVANCE SUB-COMMITTEE Barry Rutland, Michael MacNeil, Sharon Sutherland

ARTICLE 19 Doug Wurtele, Don Westwood, Alistair Tilson

CUASA GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE Alistair Tilson, Pat Finn

PATENTS & COPYRIGHT Barry Wright, Irwin Reichstein

SALARY RATIONALISATION COMMISSION Geza Kardos, Kanta Marwah, Bill Jones

BENEFITS COMMITTEE Pat Finn, Shirley Mills

FINANCE COMMITTEE Edith Moore, Doug Wurtele, Don Westwood, Pat Finn

RECIPROCAL FREE TUITION Pat Finn

EDITORAL COMMITTEE George Neuspiel, Pat Finn

MID CAREE OPTION ADVISOR Pat Finn

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS Alison Hall, Pat Finn

PUBLIC RELATIONS COMMITTEE Bob Rupert, Pat Finn

WORKLOAD COMMITTEE Marvin Glass, David Coll, Alistair Tilson

PENSION COMMITTEE Tony Wand, Bill Lawson

SENATE ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE OBSERVER Kanta Marwah

CAMPUS SAFETY COMMITTEE Colleen Lundy

JOINT OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY COMMITTEE Diana Ralph, Steve Richer, Bernie Pagurek PRESIDENT'S ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE COORDINATOR FOR THE STATUS OF WOMEN Elinor Burwell, Alison Hall

CAUT DEFENCE FUND TRUSTEES George Neuspiel, Alistair Tilson

EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Edith Moore

COUNCIL 1990-91

Vincent Basseville Bill Black Ian Cameron Chuni Chakrabarti John Chinneck Gerarld de Montigny Ken Edwards Thalos Fotiou George Frajkor Joan Fraser David Goodreau lan l ee George Melnikoff Douglas Menagh Basil Mogridge Frances Montgomery* **Rod Phillips** Swami Puttaswamaiah Joe Ramisch Irwin Reichstein Barry Rutland* Peter Swan John Taylor Roger Wells Francis Wooley Eugenia Zimmerman* Helmut Zobl

Instructors (Arts) Mechanical & Aero, Eng English Chemistry Systems & Computer Eng. School of Social Work Physics Classics Journalism Library Art History/Music School of Business Russian/SEES Instructors (Non-Arts) German Library History Math. & Stats. Religion/Can. Studies Computer Science English Law History Psychology Economics French Linguistics

STEERING COMMITTEE 1990-91

Douglas Wurtele Susan Jackson Don Westwood Edith Moore Alison Hall Alistair Tilson Bob Rupert George Neuspiel Shirley Mills (*Council members on Steering Committee)

President Past-President President Elect Treasurer Secretary **Grievance** Chair **Public Relations Chair OCUFA** Director Salary Chair